Japan will lift travel restrictions in 106 countries, including the US, starting April 8

Japan announced plans to further relax Covid-19 travel restrictions for foreign visitors from 106 countries, including the US and UK, effective April 8, the government said on Wednesday. (Full list at the end).

While this is a significant step in Tokyo’s efforts to reopen its borders to tourists, it does not imply a full reopening.

Visitors from the 106 countries will not be denied entry to Japan as of Friday, however, foreigners visiting for tourist purposes will still be barred from entering.

Visas issued before December 2nd will remain suspended, with the exception of diplomats, spouses of Japanese citizens and permanent residents.

Only those who wish to enter Japan under “special circumstances” such as visits to the terminally ill or funeral will be granted visas.

In a separate report last week, Japan announced that from April 10, the current daily overseas arrival limit of 7,000 people will be increased to 10,000 visitors.

After assessing the Covid-19 situation in Japan and considering border measures taken in other countries, Prime Minister Fumio Kishida said the government will continue to gradually eliminate border controls.

Without further ado, this is the full list of the 106 nationalities that will be able to visit Japan as of 00:00 (JST) on April 8, 2022.

Asia: Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Thailand, East Timor

Oceania: fiji

North America: Canada, United States of America

Latin America and the Caribbean: Argentina, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guyana, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Sao Christopher and Nevis, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay, Venezuela

Europe: Albania, Andorra, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta , Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, United Kingdom, Uzbekistan, Vatican

Middle East: Bahrain, Israel, Iran, Jordan, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates

- Advertisement -

Africa: Botswana, Cape Verde, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Rwanda, Seychelles, Tunisia

If you click links in this post to buy something, we may earn a commission. Thanks.

Must Read

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here