EU to suspend flights from South Africa due to new variant

The European Union has urged Member States will ban air travel with South Africa and at least six other countries because of a new variant of the coronavirus that has now sunk global stocks.

The new variant called B.1.1.529 is of international concern because it carries an extremely high number of mutations that make it look “dramatically” different from the version that COVID-19 vaccines were designed to target.