Denmark plans to lift some entry requirements from February 1

The Danish Ministry of Health has decided to lift the “more stringent temporary entry requirements” introduced on December 27, following a massive wave of COVID-19 infections.

Restrictions that will be gradually lifted from February 1st include pre-departure testing and restrictions imposed on cruise tourism.

“The more stringent temporary requirements for pre-entry testing, introduced on December 27, are being phased out. The previous general entry restrictions that were in place prior to the introduction of the stricter temporary entry restrictions will continue from Tuesday, February 1 and provisionally until February 28, 2022.” the ministry said in a press release.

The move means that Denmark will allow entry into the country to anyone who has valid proof of vaccination, as well as those who have recently recovered from the virus.

Regarding vaccines, the government also expanded its list of approved vaccines to include Covishield, Covaxin, Sinovac and Sinopharm, which will join the already approved Pfizer/BioNTech, Moderna, AstraZeneca, Janssen and Novavax.

It does away with the condition for citizens to be permanent residents of an EU/Schengen country or an OECD country in order for their vaccine brands to be recognised.

Finally, passengers arriving on cruise ships will be subject to the same laws as those arriving by air or land.

“We are saying goodbye to restrictions and welcome to life as we knew it before the corona,” he said. Prime Minister Mette Frederiksen told reporters on Wednesday.

According to the minister, his successful vaccine program “gave [them] a solid defense against infection.”

“That is why the government has decided that the coronavirus should no longer be considered a threatening disease to society.”

This means that Denmark is removing not only their entry restrictions but also domestic ones such as the wearing of masks and COVID brakes from bars and restaurants.

Travelers from Bahrain, Chile, Colombia, United Arab Emirates, Indonesia, Kuwait, New Zealand, Peru, Qatar, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, South Korea and Uruguay arriving in Denmark without valid proof of vaccination or recovery must test negative for COVID-19 test performed in the last 24 hours

Unvaccinated arrivals from other nations must also show a negative COVID-19 test within the last 24 hours and undergo a 7-day quarantine.

If you click links in this post to buy something, we may earn a commission. Thanks.

Must Read

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here