CDC warns against travel to 8 more countries with the emergence of Omicron around the world

8 more nations and territories around the world were added to the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s list of “very high risk” travel destinations.

Spain, Finland, Monaco, San Marino in the EU, as well as four other nations and territories: Gibraltar, Lebanon in the Middle East, Chad in Central Africa and Bonaire in the Caribbean.

The CDC — somehow — has raised the alarm in recent weeks, when Gibraltar, Monaco and San Marino have not appeared on the list of safe or risky destinations due to scarcity of data from those territories.

After catching up, these territories were reclassified as Level 4 on Monday.

CDC Headquarters Sign – Atlanta GA

Last week, the World Health Organization announced concerns about Omicron and its spread. 89 countries around the world.

Earlier this week, Omicron dominates some countries around the world and causes big spikes in new Covid infections.

Spain, the second hottest destination in the world, as well as Finland and Lebanon have all been upgraded from Level 3, which is considered “high risk”.

The designation of Spain as an unsafe destination serves as a reminder that no one is safe until everyone is safe.

Less than 4 weeks ago, Spain prided itself on having almost 80% of its population fully vaccinated and COVID hospital wards almost empty.

But on December 17, Spain’s COVID-19 infection rate surpassed 500 cases per 100,000 people, putting the country at “very high risk.”

With a 14-day incidence now at 609 cases per 100,000 population, Spanish Prime Minister Pedro Sánchez will meet with regional prime ministers tomorrow to “evaluate new measures that can be implemented in the coming weeks.”

Catalonia, home to one of Spain’s most visited cities, Barcelona, ​​has already revealed that it will campaign for a new curfew, closing of the night sector and limit of 10 people for gatherings.

For its part, the Finnish National Institute of Health and Welfare (THL) advised people to wear masks in all public places and on public transport across the country.

It also imposed restrictions on travelers from the UK. They you will be asked to submit a PCR or antigen test done 48 hours before arriving in Finland from 21 December.

- Advertisement -

The test measures will be in effect until January 16, according to the UK Foreign Office.

If you click links in this post to buy something, we may earn a commission. Thanks.

Must Read

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here